sign up for our mailing list

Maine Jewish Hall of Fame

Presented by Dorothy Suzi Osher in memory of Alfred Osher.

The Maine Jewish Hall of Fame was created in 2018 to bestow recognition on outstanding Jewish leaders from throughout the state who have brought distinction and honor to the State of Maine or beyond. Watch videos of the induction ceremonies and see the list of current members at the links below.

Those inducted into the Hall of Fame reflect the Jewish value of making the world a better place through outstanding accomplishments and/or humanitarian and/or philanthropic endeavors.

Presented by Dorothy Suzi Osher in Memory of Alfred Osher

* Indicates of blessed memory

- Joel and Linda Abromson* - Portland
- Jim Abrahamson*- Portland
- The Adelman family* (including Hiram and Katherine, Milton and Gloria, Yale and Mary and Jack and Elizabeth Mazer) - Aroostook County
- Dorothy and Harold Alfond* - Waterville
- Dr Albert Aranson* - Portland
- David Astor* - Portland
- Rabbi Gary Berenson - Cape Elizabeth
- The Bernstein Family* (including Israel and Rebecca, Selma and Louis, and Sumner and Rosalyne) - Portland
- Dr Joel Bloom* - Otisfield
- David Brenerman - Portland
- Judge Morton Brody* - Waterville
- Sam L Cohen * - Biddeford
- Lawrence & Kay Cutler* - Bangor, ME
- Julius (Yudy) & Frances Elowitch* - Portland
- Sidney Epstein* - Bangor
- Gerald Fineberg* - Boston
- Rabbi Tuvia Ben Shmuel Yosef (Donald Gellers)* - Eastport
- Al Glickman* and Judy Glickman Lauder - Portland
- Norman Godfrey* - Portland
- Jerry and Susan* Goldberg - Portland
- Gerda Schild Haas* - Lewiston
- Max and Irving Kagan* - Bangor
- Linda Lavin - Los Angeles

- Abraham and Fannie Levey* - Portland
- George I Lewis* - Portland
- Bernard Lown* - Lewiston
- Philip Lown* - Lewiston
- Peter and Paula Lunder - Waterville/Scarborough
- Judith Magyar and Irving Isaacson* - Lewiston
- Cantor Kurt Messerschmidt* - Portland
- The Minsky Family (Including Meyer and Bess*, Leonard and Renee *and Norman) - Old Town
- Katherine Morgan* - Portland
- Harold and Millie Nelson* - Falmouth
- Kenny and Mary Nelson - Falmouth
- Leonard and Merle Nelson - Cumberland Foreside
- Louise Nevelson* - Rockland
- The Osher Family (including Peggy* and Harold, Bernard and Barbro, Alfred* and Suzi, and Harold and Marion Sandler*) - Portland
- Nathan Povich*-Bath
- Roxanne Quimby - Schoodic
- Benjamin Stern* - Biddeford
- Rabbi Harry Z Sky* - Portland
- Nancy and Charlie Shuman - Augusta
- Jack Spiegel* - Portland
- Melvin Stone* - Portland
- Howard Trotzky - Bangor/Caratunk
- The Unobskey Family* (including Joseph and Sarah and sons William, Arthur, and Charles) - Calais
- Rita Willis* - Portland

Celebrating Maine's Jewish art, history, and culture in a restored 1921 synagogue

Executive Director – Dawn LaRochelle
Curator in Residence – Nancy Davidson
Curator of Photography – Nanci Kahn
Scholar in Residence – Rabbi David Sandmel
Program Coordinator - Rebecca Moudachirou
Museum Administrator – Alison Gibbs


Steven Brinn. President
Katie Getchell. Vice President
Andrew Brenner, Treasurer
Janet Raffle, Secretary
Dr. Nathan Aranson
Rabbi Gary Berenson, Founding Executive Director
Ben Bornstein. Esq
Harris Gleckman
Sari Greene
Robert Hirshon, Esq
Ivan Howard
Nikki Jacobson
Ruthie Noble
Marcel Polak
Amy Tinkle
Nancy Ziegler, Esq

Bestowing recognition on outstanding Maine Jewish leaders who have brought distinction and honor to the State of Maine and beyond

Steven Brinn - Event Chairperson


Toby Adelman
Steven Brinn
Rabbi Gary Berenson
Harris Gleckman
Abe Peck
Jodv Sataloff
Aaron Shapiro
Miles Theeman
King Weinstein


Rabbi Gary Berenson
Steven Brinn
Mark Aranson
Andrew Brenner
Harris Gleckman
Lee Goldberg
Ivan Howard
Ruthie Noble
Jody Sataloff
Amy Tinkle
David Turesky
Nancy Ziegler